For anyone who has never meditated before, meditation might seem as one singular state. But if you have some meditation experience, even very little, it is clear that meditation is actually many states.

Yogi Bhajan has given us a map of 21 stages, or states, and invited us to explore them. This is exactly what we do in this course:
these states that are experienced and explored as in a laboratory of mind and consciousness, are states that are experienced on our daily lives as well.

Through deepening our meditation practice in this way, we develop a deeper understanding of these states, and how they manifest in our lives.


This course is open to everyone:
Students and Teachers from all contemplative traditions are welcome!
This course is a great foundation for deepening your understanding of meditation as taught by Yogi Bhajan.


Each journey is comprised of seven stages, taking you step by step into a deeper level of awakening and realization. We will move through the basic skills of meditation to the deeper levels of awareness and integration and finally into identity, projection and merger in the infinite pulse of creation.

  • Meditating on each step;

  • Understanding each step and exploring its significance;

    Its implications and its manifestations;

  • Developing mastery over the tendencies that correspond to each stage on the journey;

  • As well as mastery in our practice of meditation.


Develop a sensitivity to the Self; in this second journey we maintain our integrity in action and ultimately find the stillness within each action.


Stage 1   Upset

Stage 2   Boredom

Stage 3   Irritation

Stage 4   Frustration

Stage 5   Focus

Stage 6   Absorption

Stage 7 Experience and crystalize the Self



Stage 8 Rasa

Stage 9 Delight  

Stage 10 Politeness      

Stage 11 Humility          

Stage 12 Elevation  

Stage 13 Graceful enlightenment

Stage 14 Express and Be yourself   

Is this course for me?

  • Broaden the scope of what you understand meditation to be

  • Open new doors of perception in your life and in your practice

  • Deepen your practice and give you new perspectives and techniques to teach others

  • Reawaken your passion for the practice

  • Provide the groundwork for a new understanding and relationship to your Self



Stage 15 Presence like a beacon

Stage 16 Radiance everywhere

Stage 17 Prayerful Stillness

Stage 18 Preacher

Stage 19 Teacher

Stage 20 Sage

Stage 21 Infinite Pulse

 Why 21 Stages? 

 “The real question is why do we practice in the first place? Happiness.

The nature of meditation is well-defined: refine the mind and elevate your awareness. The path is open: deepen your meditation through each of the 21 Stages of Meditation in order to reach that intangible quality we call realization. 

“What kind of life do you want to live? How can you develop it? What approach and formula can we use so we can grow and not suffer? Make meditation the art of life. Make meditation the science of life. Because only with that, and with that only, you can develop intuition.”
© The Teachings of Yogi Bhajan July 20, 1978

Join a 21 stages of meditation course